Healthy Conversations

Healthy Conversations with Saint Alphonsus

Happy Birthday Idaho, and America!

Leave a comment

I love the 4th of July! We are so blessed to live in a free country and I love the opportunity to celebrate our nation’s birthday.  It might be because I grew up as an ‘Army brat,’ living on post, and waking up to reveille being played every morning.

It was impressed upon me at an early age what a privilege it is to live in the United States and to have a military that is devoted to keeping our freedom.  I made certain to pass this patriotism along to my family. I think it worked, as you can see by the photo I received of my granddaughter, Siena, who is ready for the 4th of July.

I just love her boots!

July 3rd is also the 124th birthday of Idaho.  This is truly a great state and I am so happy to live and work here.  It was a mere four years later after statehood was granted that Saint Alphonsus was established in Boise by the Sisters of the Holy Cross, in 1894.

So please enjoy the 4th of July holiday, and remember to thank those who are currently serving, and honor those who have served, in our U.S. military.

 

Leave a Reply

